Ricky Ponting revealed his all-time XI


Ricky Ponting picks his all-time XI

Former Australian skipper Ricky Ponting has picked up his all time XI. As per the selection criteria, Ponting could pick the players with whom he had played with or against during his playing days.

Ponting opened there won’t be too many Greatest XI’s without Sachin Tendulkar and his longevity is remarkable. The former skipper also said that Indian batting legend has given Australians a lot of nightmares and also won many matches for his side.

Sri Lankan left-hander Kumar Sangakkara is nominated as the captain of his all-star XI.

Ponting has selected five Australians, two West Indians, one player each from India, Sri Lanka, Pakistan and South Africa.

Australian pair Matthew Hayden and Justin Langer will open the innings and iconic players Jacques Kallis, Sachin Tendulkar, Brian Lara and Kumar Sangakkara will form the middle order. Adam Gilchrist has been picked up as the wicketkeeper of the team.

In the bowling department, services of Shane Warne, Curtly Ambrose, Wasim Akram and Glenn McGrath could be used by the skipper.

Ricky Ponting’s All-Time XI:

1) Matthew Hayden (Australia)
2) Justin Langer (Australia)
3) Jacques Kallis (South Africa)
4) Sachin Tendulkar (India)
5) Brian Lara (West Indies)
6) Kumar Sangakkara (Sri Lanka, Captain)
7) Adam Gilchrist (Australia, Wicket-Keeper)
8) Shane Warne (Australia)
9) Wasim Akram (Pakistan)
10) Curtly Ambrose (West Indies)
11) Glenn McGrath (Australia)